.Giveaway: ‘Embracing the Dance’


Now in its 60th season, the Santa Cruz Symphony presents Embracing the Dance, a concert showcasing the work of celebrated American composers John Adams and Leonard Bernstein, as well as Ludwig van Beethoven. The program begins with Adams’ 13-minute long “Chairman Dances: Foxtrot for Orchestra” from 1985. It continues with Bernstein’s “Symphonic Dances” from the West Side Story score, and concludes with Beethoven’s 7th symphony, the 40-minute long masterpiece that includes a funeral march as well as moments of levity and joy. 

INFO: 7:30 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 18. Santa Cruz Civic Auditorium, 307 Church St., Santa Cruz. $29-$85. 426-6966. WANT TO GO? Go to santacruz.com/giveaways before 11 a.m. on Monday, Nov, 13 to find out how you could win a pair of tickets to the concert.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Cat Johnson
Cat Johnson is a writer and content strategist focused on community, collaboration, the future of work and music. She's a regular contributor to Shareable and her writing has appeared in dozens of publications, including Yes! Magazine, No Depression, UTNE Reader, Mother Jones and Launchable Mag. More info: catjohnson.co.
Good Times E-edition Good Times E-edition
music in the park san jose