.Be Our Guest: Santa Cruz Symphony: Mahler’s Symphony No. 1

be-our-guest-1549-Daniel Stewart 4 - credit rr jonesWin tickets to Santa Cruz Symphony: Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 on SantaCruz.com

Gustav Mahler’s Symphony No. 1 was scored for a symphony of 100 musicians and is described as “towering,” and “incomparable.” Written in 1887 and 1888, the work was envisioned by Mahler as a symphonic poem and is considered a landmark in the history of symphonic music. On Saturday, Jan. 23, Santa Cruz Symphony presents it, along with Peer Gynt Suite No. 1, by Norway’s most celebrated composer, Edvard Grieg. The symphony will perform an encore performance on Sunday, Jan. 24 at Mello Center for the Performing Arts in Watsonville.

INFO: 8 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 23. Santa Cruz Civic Auditorium, 307 Church St., Santa Cruz. $27-$72. 426-6966.

WANT TO GO? Go to santacruz.com/giveaways before 11 a.m. on Friday, Dec. 11 to find out how you could win a pair of tickets to the performance.

secure document shredding


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Cat Johnson
Cat Johnson is a writer and content strategist focused on community, collaboration, the future of work and music. She's a regular contributor to Shareable and her writing has appeared in dozens of publications, including Yes! Magazine, No Depression, UTNE Reader, Mother Jones and Launchable Mag. More info: catjohnson.co.
music in the park san jose
Good Times E-edition Good Times E-edition